top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Ginger Womble

Exercise And The Womble Part 1

Exercise- the word alone can seem exhausting. I know this because it used to be for me too. I never thought I would enjoy exercise but here I am loving it (when my health permits).

At school I was never one of those people who joined the football teams or hockey I preferred to be hidden somewhere having a cigarette, I was gifted with a natural ability to excel at long jump, triple jump and discus so when these activities came up, I was well in.


At 17 I decided to do Uniformed services at college (god knows why) but the regimental discipline that came with the exercise seemed to work for me at the time, I’m not going to lie to you and say I got super Hench but I did build up a lot of strength and stamina during this time however like most things in my life at the time it was short lived and deciding I wanted money over joining the military took priority and that’s where that road ended for me.


So being overweight was something that I’m sure occurs for most, I made a conscious decision after seeing a health trainer from the NHS that I would join a Yoga class. Yoga has always been something of interest to me because it was slower than running!! Like most women I wouldn’t go without a friend in the first place so I organised with another buddy who wanted to shift a few pounds to go and check it out.


The first class was amazing, the teacher (we will call her Super Yogi) was understanding of my goals and always showed me other options rather than going super bendy on me. I naturally have Hyper mobility which if pushed can cause more issues than its worth (I know most of you are thinking it has to have more pros than cons but I can assure you that isn’t always the case).

I have to be honest I looked forward to my class every Tuesday night it seemed to keep me relaxed and well let’s face it if I can lose weight at the same time it’s a win win. After a few weeks my friend started cancelling more and more often so I wouldn’t go on my own until one day I thought “why do you need someone to hold your hand you’re a freaking adult!!” so off I headed on my own journey of fitness and I’ve never looked back.



Soon I started doing more and more classes to shift the pounds (I still find it funny to see the pictures of me doing Boxercise and thinking “Jesus women look at the state of you”). People started noticing how much weight I was losing and I started to buy smaller clothes which as a woman is the best feeling ever aside from sex (when done right 😊).

Before I knew it, I was doing 4 classes a week but I needed more so I enquired at the gym/studio what else I could try and low & behold this is where my Aerial/pole passion came from.

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page