top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Ginger Womble

Dating & The Womble Part 1

Welcome to the wonderful world of Dating…… yes that was sarcasm (the lowest form of wit).

The superficial and shallow apps that now constitute as dating in this day and age, filters and photoshop galore to create the best possible face to put forward to the opposite sex (or same sex in some cases).

My basic over view of these apps is poor, I’ve tried to engage with people on many different sites but to be perfectly honest with you I think it takes a pretty hard-faced bitch to handle to constant harassment that comes with it. I think I’m too sensitive for these sites, either that or people are just harsh.

Let’s be honest how can you tell if you are compatible from just one picture- you can’t. If you get past the first stage of matching to at least have a conversation its all very short lived. Perhaps 1-2 days of chatting before it all changes to the real agenda for most men.

I’m not naive in thinking that ALL men on these apps are just looking for a fling but most of the ones I’ve come across seem to turn that was pretty quickly. Yes, I understand that some pictures of me on the world wide web may give the impression that I’m looking for the same but all it takes is a conversation to get to know the real me that most people don’t see. I may come across as a sexual, confident women, realistically I’ve been hurt so many times just looking in the mirror can make me feel ill and hate everything I see. As I explained in another blog, I have always used sexuality to get people to like me (it is a habit I’m trying to break but I do find it has the desired effect).

I’ve had some pretty drastic dates I’m not going to lie some have been so tragic that I have to laugh about it. I would also like to add I’ve had some pretty amazing dates too, although nothing coming of them to make me less doubtful of finding the one.

Being stood up, “oh ive forgotten my wallet”, turning up to meet someone who claims to be 6ft1 and turns out they are 5ft3, expecting instant sex, “I’m looking for someone to mother me”, guys wanting to be dominated, crying on a date because they miss their ex, spending all the date on their phone, asking for threesomes…… the list is endless. So, I decided to avoid these apps mainly for the listed reasons. I want someone to see the real me. The me that laughs so hard I can make coffee come out of my nose, the me who loves to curl up and watch a film in my pants, the me who is kind and caring, the me who looks a mess in the morning ect ect.

I would have to say I’m quite happy being as I am because it means I can order what I like, do what I like and never have to answer to someone. Having said that I do miss the intimacy that comes with having someone so I guess I’m happy to have a part timer as and when convenient for both. I’ve been pretty lucky recently I’ve come across someone who has changed my way of thinking not only about how to date but also most importantly my outlook on life. He is ambitious, creative and most importantly very sweet. He is very much like myself in many ways which can be exhausting for both of us but it is what it is. I’m not giving it too much thought at the moment I’m trying to relax and go with the flow (which if you know me isn’t my normal style) but rather than try and jump into something I’ve decided to just chill out and take it as it comes. We have both agreed that a relationship isn’t what we both need right now but we both enjoy each-others company.


88 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page